Soul Island fills the air with synth as he shares the fuzzy and nostalgic, ‘Neon Vision’ ahead of debut album release

By Alex Brown - 22.11.18

Nostalgia is a tricky thing. You can experience this complicated phenomenon without ever having lived through it. It’s this nostalgia that a lot of young music fans experience when listening to 80s inspired synth music. It’s before they were even born, yet a smile will spread across their faces. This is how Soul Island’s latest track ‘Neon Vision’ makes you feel. 

Born in Italy but currently based in London, Soul Island has shared another track, ‘Neon Vision’ from his upcoming EP, Shards set to be released on 7 December via Loyal To Your Dreams. Soul Island describes the LP as “a collection of fragments of the artist's inner speech on what's intimate but also on what's outside, from subcultures to wider global topics”. The first single from the album, ‘Ocean’, was met with great acclaim and received support from tastemaker publications including CLASH and Discobelle

‘Neon Vision’ is a strong contender for best single of the album (and we haven’t even heard the album yet). It invigorates a sense of comfort and warmth as the full-bodied synthesizers caress the mind and tug you in. Soul Island truly shines in this synth-pop track as the listener is flooded with a sense of nostalgia, longing for the days of carelessness and bliss. Swooping synth chords envelop the track while lighthearted percussion elements trickle in the background, proving that this is a track that needs multiple listens as you dig into each layer of smooth production.

Listen to ‘Neon Island’ below:

On his brand new single, Daniele of Soul Island comments, “I wrote this with long-distance relationships in mind and the screen glows of endless video calls. The getting lost in thoughts of affection and detachment as I’d walk under the night lights of high street venues and shops in London. No one is real enough through a screen and easily killed by a simple key press, pixels melting into digital tears.”

 We truly can’t wait for Soul Island to drop his debut album, if ‘Neon Vision’ is any indication. It’s not often an artists impresses with their debut, but with Soul Island our vision is clear.

Shards Album Tracklist:
1. Loser Rev
2. Bleed
3. Neon Vision
4. Ocean
5. Night Shore
6. Soul Drain
7. Perlin Time
8. Lead Out
9. Mother

Shards’ is set for release on the 7th of December via Loyal To Your Dreams.
Pre-order ‘Shards' here.

Follow Soul Island:

  • Share:

You Might Also Like