Barnaby Carter shares new track "This Is Ours", announces debut LP "While It Still Blooms"

By Alex Brown - 14.9.16

“While It Still Blooms” is the debut LP from 26-year-old Bristol-born multi-instrumentalist, electronic artist Barnaby Carter out on 28th October via Project Mooncircle. Although on the scene a short while, Barnaby garnered immediate support from the likes of BBC Introducing, BBC Music 6 and has already played with the likes of Lapalux and Romare and performed at Fete de la Musique in Geneva.

Growing up in Portishead, a neighbouring town to Bristol, he mainly listened to ‘post rock’ and guitar led music such as Mogwai and Radiohead. Discovering electronic music as a teenager and like many others that got into IDM heavyweights such as Aphex Twin  and Boards of Canada, Barnaby cites Future Sound of London’s album ‘Accelerator’ as one of his key inspirations. Drawing further influence from artists such as Jon Hopkins and labels Warp and Ninja Tune, the project largely eschews abrasive hard-hitting beats and frequencies, blending live organic instrumentation with ethereal electronic soundscapes to create ambient, downtempo excursions. At the age of 18, Barnaby went on to experimenting further with percussive and harmonic sounds whilst teaching as a piano technician for five years.

Listen to one of the tracks from the album, "This Is Ours":

"While It Still Blooms" Tracklist:

01 Ought’ve
02 Evening Redness
03 Your Greatest Gift
04 They’ll Come With Joy
05 Basti
06 Cold Weather Warm Soul
07 It’s My Constant
08 This Is Ours
09 Interpreter
10 West Kennet
11 A Place Beyond The Pines
12 Sassuolo Cagliari
13 Portus Abonae (Bonus)
14 In Bloom (Bonus)
15 Redcliffe (Bonus)

  • Share:

You Might Also Like